ما هو جفاف الفم؟

dry-mouth
جفاف الفم، أو المعروف أيضا باسم زيروستميا، هو شرط حيث الغدد اللعابية في الفم لا تنتج ما يكفي من اللعاب. يمكن أن يحدث للجميع أن يكون الفم مجفف من المعتاد، ولكن طالما انها مؤقتة انها ربما ليست صفقة كبيرة. إذا بدأ هذا يحدث في كثير من الأحيان في كثير من الأحيان، أو إذا كان الشرط الذي كان موجودا لفترة أطول، وهذا يثير الإنذارات الحمراء. إذا كنت المجففة قد تشعر أيضا أنه في تجويف الفم الخاص بك، وأنه هو شيء مؤقت من شأنها أن تذهب بعيدا بمجرد ترطيب بشكل صحيح. أيضا، يمكن أن يحدث الشيء نفسه إذا كنت قلقا أو عصبيا.

ما هي أهمية اللعاب؟

اللعاب هو واحد من أهم العوامل في فمك الذي يحافظ على تجويف الفم كله آمنة من البكتيريا والمساعدة في العديد من الوظائف. أولا، اللعاب يحتوي على العديد من البروتينات التي تحييد المنتجات الضارة من البكتيريا وأيضا الأحماض. كما أنه ينظف أسطح تجويف الفم من بقايا الطعام والبكتيريا. هذه هي الطريقة التي يحارب ضد تسوس. اللعاب مفيد جدا في العملية برمتها من هضم الطعام. مرة واحدة كنت لدغة على الطعام واللعاب يضعف لدغة ويساعد على التحرك من خلال تجويف الفم والمريء دون الإضرار بأي أنسجة. أيضا، يبدأ عملية هضم في الفم، مع الإنزيمات التي يحتوي على اللعاب. فإنه يساعد بشكل فعال قدرتك على تذوق الطعام.

اللعاب يحارب ضد الفطريات والفيروسات، وأنه يحمي فمك من القرحة والقروح. إذا كانت الغدد لا تنتج ما يكفي من اللعاب، التي سوف تؤثر على جميع الوظائف في الفم، بما في ذلك مضغ والبلع والتحدث.

الأعراض

أعراض جفاف الفم من السهل جدا أن تلاحظ. سوف تبدأ الشعور شعور جاف جدا لزجة أنك عادة لا تشعر. ستلاحظ أن لديك اللعاب أقل في فمك وأنه هو أكثر سمكا. قد يتغير تصور الذوق. سوف تواجه صعوبات في التحدث والمضغ والبلع. لأن تأثير التشحيم اللعاب مفقود التي قد تسبب القروح، والشقوق، والشفاه الجافة والألم. سوف تكون دائما عطشى، ولكن مياه الشرب لن تساعد كثيرا. سوف يسبب حالة مشاكل مع لسانك أيضا، حيث سوف تشعر الأحاسيس وخز غريب. سوف يكون حلقك وأنفك جافين، وقد يؤدي ذلك إلى الالتهابات. سيتم تغيير مظهر كامل من تجويف الفم. ومن الواضح أن السطوح تكون جافة، لامعة وظلال أعمق من اللون الأحمر. ستلاحظ التهاب اللثة، تسوس الأسنان، ورائحة الفم الكريهة. ومن المرجح جدا أن يحدث إحساس بالحرق.

ما هي المشاكل التي يمكن أن يسببها جفاف الفم؟

جفاف الفم يمكن أن يسبب العديد من المشاكل، حتى بعض منهم حتى يمكن أن يكون لها تأثير كبير على الحياة اليومية. وبطبيعة الحال، فإن المشاكل مع الأسنان واللثة هي الأكثر وضوحا منها، ولكن ليس أسوأ منها. الناس الذين يعانون من زيروستميا لديهم نسبة أعلى بكثير من تسوس وأمراض اللثة. وهم يعانون من الالتهابات الفموية في كثير من الأحيان أكثر من الناس مع تدفق اللعاب الطبيعي. عدوى الخميرة، أو المعروف أيضا باسم القلاع هو الأكثر شيوعا. وسوف تلاحظ أيضا القروح والشقوق، وخاصة تقع في زوايا الشفاه. المرضى الذين يعانون من أطقم الأسنان هي تلك التي لديها الكثير من المتاعب التعامل مع جفاف الفم. هذا الشرط يجعل من المستحيل تقريبا بالنسبة لهم لارتداء أطقم الأسنان. أنت لن تكون قادرة على التمتع الطعام مثل قبل، سيكون لديك وقتا عصيبا مضغ والبلع وأيضا الإحساس لن يكون هو نفسه.

الأسباب

يمكن أن يكون زيروستميا بسبب الأمراض والظروف التي تؤثر على الغدد اللعابية ولكن هذا يحدث أقل في كثير من الأحيان. الأسباب الأكثر شيوعا لهذا الشرط هي أدوية معينة، والظروف الطبية العامة، والشيخوخة، والتدخين،

1. الدواء
medication
طن من الأدوية التي تستخدم لعلاج بعض الأمراض يمكن أن يسبب آثار جانبية مثل زيروستميا. أدوية مثل مضادات الاكتئاب، مضادات الهيستامين، مدرات البول، موسعات الشعب الهوائية، تلك المستخدمة لعلاج القلق والغثيان والسمنة والألم والاضطرابات الذهانية، ومرض باركنسون هي تلك التي يمكن أن تؤدي إلى جفاف الفم كأثر جانبي.

2. الأمراض

العديد من الحالات الطبية العامة يمكن أن تؤثر على الغدد اللعابية. متلازمة سجوجرن هو مرض المناعة الذاتية الذي يهاجم الغدد في الفم والعينين. انها متلازمة خطيرة جدا والناس الذين لديهم انها تكافح حقا مع الأعراض. لديهم نسبة أعلى بكثير من تسوس الأسنان وأمراض اللثة، وكبار السن لديهم وقتا عصيبا مع أطقم الأسنان. أمراض المناعة الذاتية الأخرى التي يمكن أن تسبب زيروستميا هي الذئبة الحمامية الجهازية والتهاب المفاصل الروماتويدي.

مرض الزهايمر وفيروس نقص المناعة البشرية / الإيدز، ومرض السكري، ومرض باركنسون، وارتفاع ضغط الدم ليست سوى جزء من الأمراض الأكثر شيوعا التي يمكن أن تؤدي إلى هذه الحالة.

3. الشيخوخة

الشيخوخة هي عملية طبيعية تماما لا يمكن وقفها. العديد من كبار السن لديهم مشكلة مع جفاف الفم. والسبب الرئيسي في ذلك ليس مجرد عملية الشيخوخة ولكن أيضا العوامل الإضافية الكثيرة الموجودة. وكثيرا ما يأخذ المسنون العديد من الأدوية بسبب مشاكلهم الصحية.

4. العلاج الإشعاعي

العلاجات العلاجية التي تستخدم لمكافحة السرطان يمكن أن تؤثر على الغدد اللعابية. العلاج الكيميائي والإشعاع، وخاصة إذا تم القيام به في مجال الوجه والرقبة يمكن أن تقلل من تدفق اللعاب. وفي بعض الحالات، تكون الحالة مؤقتة فقط، في حين قد يكون هناك في حالات أخرى أضرار دائمة. كل ذلك يعتمد على جرعات الإشعاع المستخدمة في العلاج.

وتشمل الأسباب الأخرى لجفاف الفم التدخين، وتلف الأعصاب، والظروف التي تسبب الجفاف، والمخدرات، وتعاطي الكحول.

علاج او معاملة

علاج زيروستميا يعتمد على السبب. إذا واجهت أي من هذه الأعراض يجب عليك زيارة طبيب الأسنان الخاص بك. وسوف يحدد السبب ويساعدك على علاج هذه الحالة. إذا كنت تتناول الدواء الذي يسبب انخفاض تدفق اللعاب، ثم هناك خيار لتغييرها مع نوع آخر أو تقليل الجرعة. لتقليل الأعراض عادة ما يصف أطباء الأسنان المنتجات الخاصة التي تعمل مثل اللعاب الاصطناعي، أو حتى الأدوية التي تحفز الغدد اللعابية.
dry-mouth-relieve

Shares
Share This

Dry Mouth- Symptoms, Causes, Treatment

What is a dry mouth?

dry-mouth
Dry mouth, or also known as xerostomia, is a condition where the salivary glands in the mouth do not produce enough saliva. It can happen to everyone to have a dryer mouth than usual, but as long as it’s temporary it’s probably not a big deal. If this starts happening very often, or if it’s a condition that’s been present for a longer time, that raises red alarms. If you are dehydrated you might also feel that in your oral cavity, and it is a temporary thing that will go away once you hydrate properly. Also, the same thing can happen if you are anxious or nervous.

What is the importance of saliva?

Saliva is one of the most important factors in your mouth that keeps the whole oral cavity safe from bacteria and help with many functions. First of all, saliva contains many proteins that neutralize the harmful products of bacteria and also acids. It also cleans the surfaces of the oral cavity from food leftovers and bacteria. This is how it fights against caries. Saliva is very helpful in the whole process of digesting the food. Once you bite onto food, saliva moistens the bite and helps it move through the oral cavity and esophagus without damaging any tissues. Also, the digesting process starts in the mouth, with the enzymes that the saliva contains. It effectively helps your ability to taste the food.

Saliva fights against fungi and viruses, and it protects your mouth from ulcers and sores. If the glands don’t produce enough saliva, that will affect all of the functions in the mouth, including chewing, swallowing and speaking.

Symptoms

The symptoms of a dry mouth are very easy to notice. You will start feeling a very dry and sticky feeling that you usually don’t feel. You will notice that you have less saliva in your mouth and that it is thicker. Your taste perception might change. You will experience difficulties in speaking, chewing and swallowing. Because the lubricating effect of saliva is missing that might cause sores, cracks, dry lips and pain. You will be always thirsty, but drinking water won’t help much. The condition will cause problems with your tongue also, where you will feel weird tingling sensations. Your throat and nose will be dry, and that might lead to infections. The whole appearance of the oral cavity will be changed. The surfaces will evidently be dry, shiny and a deeper shade of red. You will notice gum inflammation, dental caries, and bad breath. A burning sensation is also very likely to happen.

What are the problems that a dry mouth can cause?

A dry mouth can cause many problems, some of them even can even have a huge impact on the everyday life. Of course, the problems with teeth and gums are the most noticeable ones, but not the worst ones. People that are affected by xerostomia have a much higher incidence of caries and gum disease. They suffer oral infections much more often than people with normal saliva flow. Yeast infection, or also known as thrush is the most common one. They will also notice sores and cracks, especially located at the angles of the lips. Patients with dentures are the ones that have a lot of trouble dealing with dry mouth. This condition makes it almost impossible for them to wear the dentures. You will not be able to enjoy food like before, you will have a hard time chewing, swallowing and also the sensation will not be the same.

Causes

Xerostomia can be caused by diseases and conditions that affect the salivary glands but that happens less often. The most common causes of this condition are certain medication, general medical conditions, aging, smoking,

1. Medication
medication
Tons of medication that are used to cure certain diseases can cause side effects such as xerostomia. Drugs such as antidepressants, antihistamines, diuretics, bronchodilators, the ones used to cure anxiety, nausea, obesity, pain, psychotic disorders, Parkinson’s disease are the ones that can lead to a dry mouth as a side effect.

2. Diseases

Many general medical conditions can affect the salivary glands. Sjogren’s Syndrome is an autoimmune disease that attacks the glands in the mouth and eyes. It is a very serious Syndrome and people that have it are really struggling with the symptoms. They have a much higher incidence of tooth decay and gum disease, and the older ones have a hard time with dentures. Other autoimmune diseases that can cause xerostomia are systemic lupus erythematosus and rheumatoid arthritis.

Alzheimer’s, HIV/AIDS, diabetes, Parkinson’s disease, hypertension are just a part of the more common diseases that can lead to this condition.

3. Aging

Aging is a perfectly normal process that cannot be stopped. Many older people have trouble with dry mouth. The main reason for this is not just the process of aging but also the many additional factors that are present. Older people very often take many medications because of their health problems.

4. Radiation therapy

Therapy treatments that are used to fight against cancer can affect the salivary glands. Chemotherapy and radiation, especially if they are done in the area of face and neck can reduce the saliva flow. In some cases, the condition will only be temporary, while in others there might be permanent damage. It all depends on the doses of radiation used in the treatment.

Other causes of dry mouth include smoking, nerve damage, conditions that cause dehydration, drugs, and alcohol abuse.

Treatment

The treatment of xerostomia depends on the cause. If you experience any of these symptoms you should visit your dentist. He will determine the cause and help you treat the condition. If you’ve been taking medication that is causing a reduced saliva flow, then there is an option to change them with another type or reduce the dose. To lessen the symptoms dentists usually prescribe special products that act like an artificial saliva, or even medication that stimulate the salivary glands.
dry-mouth-relieve