مرض السكري أصبح واحدا من الأمراض الأكثر شيوعا في العالم. لسوء الحظ، كل يوم هناك الآلاف من الناس الجدد تشخيص معها. هذا هو الشرط الذي يمنع جسمك لمعالجة السكر بشكل صحيح. هناك نوعان من مرض السكري، وكلاهما يؤدي إلى ارتفاع مستويات السكر في الدم. هذا المرض يؤثر على أجزاء كثيرة من الجسم ويضر الأجهزة المختلفة. يمكن أن يسبب مشاكل مع الكلى والعينين والقلب وحتى الفم. وهناك الكثير من الناس لا يدركون أنهم يعانون من هذا الشرط وتجاهل العديد من علامات التحذير. أيضا، تلك التي تحصل بالفعل على العلاج لا يفهمون آثار السكري يمكن أن يكون على صحة الفم.

diabetes

ما هي الأعراض عن طريق الفم الناتجة عن مرض السكري ؟

واحدة من الأعراض الأولى لهذا المرض هو جفاف الفم. ويسبب ذلك انخفاض تدفق اللعابية ويؤدي إلى إحساس بالحرق تظهر في الفم واللسان. يمكن أن يكون سبب زيروستميا بعض الأدوية التي تأخذ المرضى. هذا الإحساس قوي بشكل خاص في الأشخاص الذين يعانون من مرض السكري غير المنضبط. ويمكن أيضا تغيير الإحساس تذوق بسبب عدم وجود اللعاب. وتشمل الأعراض الأخرى ارتفاع تسوس الإصابة، التهاب اللثة والتهاب اللثة، رائحة الفم الكريهة، والالتهابات البكتيرية والفطرية وأكثر من ذلك.

مرض السكري و مرض اللثة

periodontal-disease
مرضى السكري غالبا ما يعانون من مشاكل في اللثة. كل شيء يبدأ كما التهاب اللثة أو التهاب اللثة. تظهر على أنها حمراء، منتفخة ونزيف تلقائيا أو عند تنظيف الأسنان بالفرشاة. هذا هو نتيجة سوء نظافة الفم أو السكري غير المنضبط. إذا لاحظ المرضى هذه العلامات يجب عليهم زيارة طبيب الأسنان. هناك، وسوف تحصل على المشورة المناسبة حول كيفية علاج الالتهاب. لحسن الحظ، هذا هو حالة عكسها التي يمكن وقفها مع التدابير المناسبة.

إذا لم يتم علاج التهاب اللثة فإنه سوف تقدم إلى التهاب اللثة. هذا الشرط يؤثر على الأنسجة الداعمة للأسنان والعظام المحيطة بها. هذا هو مرض الفم الأكثر شيوعا والمرضى الذين يعانون من مرض السكري هي للأسف أكثر عرضة لالتهاب اللثة. تلك التي لديها مستويات غير المنضبط من السكر في الدم هي في خطر أكبر من أن تتأثر. الناس الذين يعانون من مرض السكري لديهم مشكلة مع مكافحة البكتيريا المسؤولة عن التهاب اللثة، وبالتالي تحتاج إلى إيلاء المزيد من الاهتمام لصحتهم عن طريق الفم والنظافة.

إذا لم يقم مرضى السكري بزيارة أطباء الأسنان بشكل منتظم وليس لديهم صحة الفم المثالية، فإن التهاب دواعم السن سوف يتقدم إلى مراحل متقدمة. وهذا هو عندما يحدث فقدان متقدمة في العظام والأنسجة. مرض اللثة هو مضاعفات مرض السكري، ولكن أيضا مرة واحدة انها موجودة فإنه يعقد عملية السيطرة على المرض. يسبب مرض دواعم السن الحاد زيادة في نسبة السكر في الدم. وفي الوقت نفسه، يكون الجسم أكثر عرضة للإصابة بالعدوى ولديه قدرة أقل على مكافحة البكتيريا.

السكري والعدوى الفطرية

diabetes-fungal-infection
داء المبيضات الفموي هو عدوى فطرية الانتهازية الشائعة المرتبطة بمرض السكري. ويسبب ذلك المبيضات البيكانز وعادة ما يظهر في المناطق الرطبة ودافئة من الجسم، بما في ذلك الفم. مع مرضى السكري، يمكن أن تظهر مرض القلاع كعدوى أولية في الفم، ولكن يمكن أن تحدث أيضا باعتبارها واحدة الثانوية، وذلك بسبب زيروستميا أو استخدام المضادات الحيوية.

لسوء الحظ، الناس الذين يعانون من مرض السكري هم أكثر عرضة لتطوير المبيضات عن طريق الفم. والسبب في ذلك هو ارتفاع مستويات السكر في الدم. كما هو الحال مع أي مضاعفات أخرى، فإن السكري غير المنضبط لديه فرص أكبر لالتهابات الفم. عامل آخر مهم جدا هو ضعف الجهاز المناعي أن مرضى السكري لديهم. التدخين، أطقم الأسنان وسوء نظافة الفم هي العوامل المؤهبة الأخرى لمرض القلاع.

الأعراض هي مميزة ويمكن التعرف عليها بسهولة جدا من قبل طبيب الأسنان. وتشمل الآفات البيضاء الموجودة في الفم، وتحديدا على اللسان، والجزء الشفوي من الخدين والجزء الخلفي من تجويف الفم. المرضى قد تواجه تغييرا في تصورهم من الذوق وجفاف الفم. سوف يكون اللسان أحمر، كما قد يكون هناك نزيف. الشقوق على الجلد في زوايا الشفاه شائعة جدا.

السكري والعدوى البكتيرية

تحدث الالتهابات البكتيرية عن طريق الفم في كثير من الأحيان مع مرضى السكري. هؤلاء المرضى لديهم نظام مناعي أضعف لا يستطيع محاربة البكتيريا بنفس الطريقة التي يمكن أن يفعلها كائن صحي. مرضى السكري لديهم آلية الدفاع المختلة والتي تسبب العدوى المتكررة. أيضا، التئام الجروح أبطأ.

السكري والسوس

ويؤدي انخفاض الجهاز المناعي، وانخفاض تدفق اللعاب، وقابلية الإصابة بالعدوى البكتيرية إلى زيادة خطر التسوس مع مرضى السكري.

كيفية العناية بصحة الفم إذا كنت مصابا بالسكري؟

يجب أن تبدأ الرعاية الخاصة بك مع جدولة زيارات منتظمة إلى طبيب الأسنان. أثبت العلماء أن صحة الفم الجيدة يمكن أن تساعد في السيطرة على مستويات السكر في الدم. وهذان لهما علاقة وثيقة جدا. إذا كنت تأخذ رعاية جيدة حقا من أسنانك واللثة التي قد تكون مفيدة جدا في تنظيم المرض.

أولا وقبل كل شيء، إذا كانت مستويات السكر في الدم تحت السيطرة، يجب أن لا تعاني من أي مشاكل. وبهذه الطريقة سيكون جسمك أقوى وقادرة على محاربة أي نوع من البكتيريا أو الفطريات التي يمكن أن تسبب العدوى. سوف ينصح لك لتنظيف أسنانك مرتين على الأقل في اليوم مع فرشاة ناعمة خفف، والخيط مرة واحدة في اليوم. إذا كنت ترتدي أطقم أسنان يجب أيضا تنظيفها كل يوم. وبصرف النظر عن ذلك، سوف تكون هناك حاجة إلى الرعاية المهنية. وينبغي إجراء عمليات التنظيف العميق والحشوات والإجراءات العادية الأخرى إذا لزم الأمر.

تطبيق النظام الغذائي السليم الذي سوف يساعدك على السيطرة على المرض هو شيء مهم آخر. يجب أن يميل المدخنين إلى الإقلاع عن هذه العادة السيئة. ويوصى بشدة ممارسة الرياضة والأنشطة البدنية.

يجب عليك جدولة الزيارات مرتين على الأقل في السنة. إذا لاحظت أي أعراض غريبة، والأحاسيس أو المشاعر يجب عليك الاتصال على الفور لتحديد موعد. العدوى شائعة جدا، وينبغي علاجها في أقرب وقت ممكن، وإلا، فإن المضاعفات سيكون من الصعب علاجها. هذا هو السبب في أنك يجب أن تجعل نظافة الفم والزيارات الأسنان العادية الأولوية الخاصة بك.

Shares
Share This

Diabetes and Oral Health

Diabetes is becoming one of the most common diseases in the world. Unfortunately, every day there are thousands of new people diagnosed with it. This is a condition that prevents your body to properly process sugar. There are two types of diabetes, and both of those lead to high blood sugar levels. The disease affects many parts of the body and damages different organs. It can cause problems with the kidneys, eyes, heart and even the mouth. A lot of people are not aware they are suffering from this condition and ignore the many warning signs. Also, the ones that are already getting treatment don’t understand the effects diabetes can have on the oral health.

diabetes

What are the Oral Symptoms of Diabetes?

One of the first symptoms of this disease is a dry mouth. It is caused by a reduced salivary flow and it leads to a burning sensation appearing in the mouth and tongue. The xerostomia can be caused by some of the medication that patients take. This sensation is especially strong in people with uncontrolled diabetes. The tasting sensation might also be altered due to the lack of saliva. Other symptoms include a higher caries incidence, gingivitis and periodontitis, bad breath, bacterial and fungal infections and more.

Diabetes and Gum Disease

periodontal-disease
Diabetics very often suffer from problems with their gums. It all starts as gingivitis or an inflammation of the gums. They appear as red, swollen and bleed spontaneously or when brushing. This is a result of poor oral hygiene or uncontrolled diabetes. If patients notice these signs they should pay a visit to their dentist. There, they will get the proper advice on how to treat the inflammation. Luckily, this is a reversible condition that can be stopped with the appropriate measures.

If the gingivitis is not treated it will progress to periodontitis. This condition affects the supporting tissues of the teeth and the surrounding bone. It is the most common oral disease and patients with diabetes are unfortunately more susceptible to periodontitis. The ones that have uncontrolled levels of blood sugar are at a greater risk of being affected. People with diabetes have trouble with fighting the bacteria responsible for the gum inflammation, therefore need to pay much more attention to their oral health and hygiene.

If diabetics don’t visit their dentists regularly and don’t have that ideal oral hygiene, the periodontitis will progress to advanced stages. That is when the advanced loss of bone and tissue happens. Periodontal disease is a complication of diabetes, but also once it’s present it complicates the process of controlling the disease. The severe periodontal disease causes an increase in blood sugar. In the same time, the body is much more susceptible to infections and has less power to fight bacteria.

Diabetes and Fungal Infections

diabetes-fungal-infection
Oral candidiasis is a common opportunistic fungal infection associated with diabetes. It is caused by Candida Albicans and it usually appears in moist and warm areas of the body, including the mouth. With diabetics, thrush can appear as a primary infection in the mouth, but it can also occur as a secondary one, due to xerostomia or use of antibiotics.

Unfortunately, people with diabetes are more likely to develop oral candidiasis. The reason for this is the high levels of blood sugar. As with any other complication, uncontrolled diabetes has greater chances of oral infections. Another very important factor is the weaker immune system that diabetics have. Smoking, dentures and poor oral hygiene are the other predisposing factors for a thrush.

The symptoms are characteristic and can be recognized very easily by a dentist. They include white lesions located in the mouth, specifically on the tongue, oral part of the cheeks and the back parts of the oral cavity. Patients might experience a change in their perception of taste and dry mouth. The tongue will be red, and also bleeding might be present. Cracks on the skin at the corners of the lips are very common.

Diabetes and Bacterial Infections

Oral bacterial infections happen very often with diabetics. These patients have a weaker immune system that can’t fight the bacteria the same way a healthy organism would do. Diabetics have a dysfunctional defense mechanism and that causes recurrent infections. Also, wound healing is slower.

Diabetes and Caries

The lowered immune system, the decreased salivary flow, and susceptibility to bacterial infections lead to a higher risk of caries with diabetics.

How to Take Care of Your Oral Health if You are a Diabetic?

Your care should start with scheduling regular visits to the dentist. Scientists proved that the good oral health can help with controlling the levels of blood sugar. These two have a very close correlation. If you are taking really good care of your teeth and gums that might prove very useful in regulating the disease.

First of all, if your blood sugar levels are under control, you shouldn’t be experiencing any problems. That way your body will be stronger and able to fight any type of bacteria or fungi that can cause an infection. You will be advised to brush your teeth at least twice a day with a soft-bristled brush, and floss once a day. If you are wearing dentures they should also be cleaned every day. Aside from this, professional care will be required. Deep cleanings, fillings, and other regular procedures should be performed if necessary.

Implementing the proper diet that will help you have the disease under control is another important thing. Smokers should tend to quit that bad habit. Exercising and physical activities are highly recommended.

You should schedule visits for at least twice a year. If you notice any weird symptoms, sensations or feelings you should immediately call for an appointment. Infections are very common and should be treated as soon as possible, otherwise, the complications will be hard to treat. That is why you should make oral hygiene and regular dental visits your priority.